The East Africa Law Society is the umbrella Regional Bar Association of East Africa. A dual membership organization, it brings together individual lawyer members as well as the six (6) National Law Societies being the Burundi Bar Association, the Law Society of Kenya, the Rwanda Bar Association, the Tanganyika Law Society, the Uganda Law Society and the Zanzibar Law Society. It has a specific focus on the professional development of its members as well as promotion of constitutionalism, democracy and good governance, the rule of law and the advancement, promotion and protection of human rights in East Africa.

Under the Supporting Inclusive Resource Development in East Africa project, EALS is leading discussions at the regional level including ensuring legal reform and harmonization of national and regional laws on the extractives.